Gelato: Is it a Vegan- or a Vegetarian-Friendly Food Choice?

Gelato is a popular Italian dessert and gained everyone’s attention in less time. It is a frozen dessert made with 3.25% milk and sugar, containing 70% less air and more flavors than other desserts. It is known worldwide; however, Italy is the only country where the market share of Gelato versus mass-produced is over 55%.

The traditional flavors of Gelato are pistachio, vanilla, chocolate, and more. Modern flavors consist of apple, lemon, and pineapple. It is creamier, smoother, and more elastic than American ice cream. Both ice cream and Gelato contain milk, cream, and sugar; Gelato uses less cream and more milk.

While some people use Gelato, they don’t know if it is vegan or vegetarian food. It is similar to frozen yogurt but not made in the same way. Let us know how it is made and is different from ice cream.

Gelato Production and Ingredients

Sometimes a vegetarian diet allows for dairy products like eggs, and a vegan diet strictly prohibits animal derivatives and ingredients. Gelato is made with milk, cream, sugar, and flavorings. Also, some gelato contains egg yolks.

However, the modern recipe to make Gelato is completely milk-based. Dairy products and sugar are mixed in equal quantities and then pasteurized. A small amount of air is also churned into it before keeping it in the freezer. It doesn’t contain eggs, but ice cream contains egg yolks as a stabilizing agent. Furthermore, it contains flavor from natural sources and does not include animal flesh.

Gelato is made while heating the ingredients to 85C for pasteurization, and then it is lowered to 5 C and mixed with the required texture.

The Flavor and Texture of Gelato

From traditional vanilla flavor to chocolate, you can choose from myriads of ice cream flavors, but when it comes to Gelato, you have limited options. You can select from pistachios and tiramisu but can’t have the desired combination you see in the ice cream parlor. Gelato contains less fat but is warmer than ice cream. Also, it has smoother consistency and is served with a spade.

Why Choose Gelato Over Ice Cream?

Depending on the Gelato, you might get fruits, cocoa, or other nutrients. For instance, when made with berries, it is rich in antioxidants and a great source for a strong immune system. It also contains carbohydrates and helps in quickly absorbing energy. Furthermore, it is lower in fat and calories, and thus tastier than ice cream.

Final Words

Next time you wonder whether Gelato is vegan or vegetarian food, know that it is not vegan friendly due to its animal-derived ingredients and is made using eggs (sometimes), milk, and sugar. While it can be a great option for those consuming a vegetarian diet, it is not completely vegan-friendly.

Related Post


Embracing Vegetarianism: The Basic Step for a Healthier You

June 26, 2019

Know how vegetarianism impacts the human body. Following a vegetarian diet could be the wisest decision and a great step towards leading a healthy life.


Debunking 9 Common Vegetarian Myths that You Believed Your Entire Life

July 4, 2019

People who strictly follow a vegetarian diet are often misunderstood. Know about some of the most common vegetarian myths that people often believe.


5 Ways Vegetarianism Can Help Save the Environment

July 5, 2019

Vegetarianism continues to earn momentum due to its many benefits, both health-wise & environmentally. Here are 5 ways vegetarianism saves the environment.

Say No to Animal Cruelty & Yes to Nature

Vegetarian is not just a type of diet, but more of a lifestyle. It’s a healthier choice you make for the people, for the animals, and for a better planet